Meet the 2018 Candidates for 2nd Vice President

Updated: Voting is now open. Deadline to vote is 24 September at 12 PM (Noon) ET.

Next up in our featured posts on this year’s elections are the two candidates running for 2nd Vice President: Avi Mendelson and Jon Rosdahl.

The candidate elected to the office of 2nd Vice President will serve a one-year term starting 1 January 2019.

The position of 2nd Vice President has two vital functions to the organization. One, they provide counsel and assistance to the president and other volunteer leaders, and two, they provide leadership and directions for officers and society programs. They are third in succession to the Computer Society President, and second in succession to the President-elect.

To learn more of other positions up for election this year, click here to read the position statements and bios of the 11 candidates running for the Board of Governors. Plus, look for the posts on the candidates running for 1st Vice President and President-Elect 2019/President 2020 next week.

Remember, voting begins on Monday, 6 August. The candidates running for 2nd Vice President with their position statements and biographies are listed in alphabetical order.  Continue…

POSTED IN  |  TAGS:   •    •    •  

Meet the 2018 Board of Governors Candidates

Updated: Voting is now open. Deadline to vote is 24 September at 12 PM (Noon) ET.

IEEE Computer Society members can begin voting for President, 1st Vice President, 2nd Vice President, and the Board of Governors on Monday, 6 August. Over the next two weeks we will provide each candidate’s position statement and biography. First up are the candidates running for the Board of Governors.

Eleven candidates are running for six open seats; members may vote for up to six candidates. The candidates elected to the Board of Governors in 2018 will serve a three-year term, from 1 January 2019 to 31 December 2021.

In June 2018, the IEEE Computer Society Board of Governors approved amendments to Bylaws Article II Nominations and Elections. The amendments reduced the number of annually elected Board member positions from seven to six going forward, with the total number of elected Board members changing from 21 to 18 by the start of the 2021 calendar year. The seven Board of Governors elected by members to terms ending in 2019 or 2020 will serve through the end of their terms.

The candidates are listed in alphabetical order. Some candidates have provided links with additional information or created webpages about their candidacy. Continue…

POSTED IN  |  TAGS:   •    •    •  

IEEE Computer Society Announces New Executive Director Melissa Russell

We are pleased to announce that Melissa Russell has been named IEEE Computer Society Executive Director. Melissa comes to us from the Optical Society (OSA) in Washington, DC.

As the Computer Society’s most senior staff member, Melissa will lead the executive team and will be responsible for managing our board of directors and volunteer groups to continue the progress of the Society’s extensive membership, international conferences, publications, standards, and training programs. Continue…

POSTED IN  |  TAGS:   •    •