2018 Upsilon Pi Epsilon Student Honor Society Award Winners

POSTED BY on 04.04.2019

The Computer Society has chosen the 2018 Upsilon Pi Epsilon Award winners. The award had a record number of applications this year, and choosing from among the group was a challenging task.

We congratulate all of the 2018 UPE winners.

Upsilon Pi Epsilon Award Winners

Sajithra E GSajithra E G

St. Xavier’s Catholic College of Engineering

BE Electronics and Communication Engineering


Sajithra E G is working toward a Bachelor of Engineering in electronics and communication engineering at St. Xavier’s Catholic College of Engineering. She has had internships Keltron Equipment Complex and Seaview Support Systems. She participated in competitions at the NSECT’17, BOOTUP’17 and YUKTHI, and won first prize in the Circuit Debugging competition at the Cape Institute of Technology.




Ruben GlattRuben Glatt

Universidade de São Paulo

Machine Learning


Ruben Glatt is a Ph.D. student at the Universidade de São Paulo. He has participated in a teaching internship that consisted of one semester of theoretical preparation through seminars and a practical semester as assistant to a professor. He has mentored undergrad students to find a study topic for  formulating their final thesis. Glatt has volunteered at ICML 2016 and NIPS 2016+2018. As the lead organizer of a French non-profit organization, he has organized a series of applied machine learning conferences in São Paulo, London, and Boston.



Rashmitha VarmaRashmitha Varma Pandati

Vignana Bharathi Institute of Technology

Computer Science and Engineering


Rashmitha Varma Pandati studies at the Vignana Bharathi Institute of Technology. She is the chair of the IEEE – VBIT student branch. She was a finalist in IEEE SS12 Maker Fair Competition 2018 and was selected as the project member in “Technergize,” an initiative taken up by IEEE India Council Student Activities Committee. Pandati was also the winner of Skillathon conducted by Y-Axis in collaboration with Times of India in 2018.




Suraj NagendraSuraj Nagendra S

Government Engineering College Sreekrishnapuram

Computer Science


Suraj Nagendra S was pursuing a bachelor of technology in computer science at the Government Engineering College Sreekrishnapuram. He was an IEEEXtreme Ambassador for two consecutive years. He has interned with Prompt Peripherals and Payoda Technologies Pvt Ltd. Suraj Nagendra is currently working on a News Accuracy Predictor project that aims at identifying Fake News propagating through Twitter and other news websites.



Honorable Mention

Umang AhujaUmang Ahuja

Delhi Technological University

Computer Engineering


Umang Ahuja is pursuing a bachelor of technology in computer engineering at Delhi Technological University. He was involved in IEEE Xtreme 11.0 and 12.0. He has been blogging on Python and teaching the subject on YouTube. Ahuja has participated in competitive programming competitions for the past three years. He has also mentored first-year students on learning technologies.




Amrith MAmrith M

College of Engineering Trivandrum

Computer Science


Amrith M is an undergraduate student, working on his bachelor of technology in computer science at the College of Engineering Trivandrum. He was the chair of his university’s Computer Society student branch chapter. He leads the Developer Student Club at his college. Amrith M has conducted research on computational complexity theory as a research intern at IIT Madras. In April 2017, he became a Richard E. Merwin Student Scholar.




Mateja Napravnik

Mateja Napravnik

University of Rijeka

Department of Engineering


Mateja Napravnik is studying in the Department of Engineering at the University of Rijeka. She participates in programming competitions, and in IEEEXtreme. She is involved in creating interactive maps of her university department’s building and of her country. The latter will showcase the beauty of her homeland and let users interact with the program to learn about the local flora and fauna.




S Varun KumarS Varun Kumar

St. Joseph’s College of Engineering

Instrumentation and Control


Varun Kumar is a undergraduate student, studying instrumentation and control at St. Joseph’s College of Engineering. He is the chair of the Computer Society student branch chapter at his university. Kumar is the recipient of the International Society of Automation Educational Foundation Scholarship Award 2018. He won the National Level Open Challenge Competition “Solution to Problem” – DEFEXPO and “The Alexa and Arduino Smart Home Challenge,” conducted by Hackster.io.



Mohammod Abdul MotinMohammod Abdul Motin

University of Melbourne

Signal Processing and Machine Learning


Mohammod Abdul Motin is pursuing a doctorate at the University of Melbourne in the Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering. His field of research is in machine learning and signal processing for biomedical applications. Motin came in second place in the Lance Stafford Larson Student Writing Award competition in 2017.




Garima BadhanGarima Badhan

Northern India Engineering College

Computer Science Engineering


Garima Badhan is an undergraduate student working toward a degree in computer science engineering. She is the chair of the Northern India Engineering College student branch and Women in Engineering affinity group. Badhan won first prize in the Women in Engineering Stand Project Presentation, organized by Delhi section for the project “Sign Language Detection Using Hybrid Machine Learning Model.”





Harun GulecHarun Gulec

Pamukkale University

Department of Computer Engineering


Harun Gulec is pursuing a bachelor of engineering in the Department of Computer Engineering at Pamukkale University.  He participated in the Hacktrick conference, the Cyber Security Winter Training Camp organized by BG and DFIR Camp organized by ADEO. Gulec received an internship during which he wrote a report of malware analysis. He won first prize at STM CTF (cyber security contest) and second at the METU Hackathon.



Ahsan Razzaq RajaAhsan Raja

COMSATS Institute of Information Technology, Wah Campus

Computer Science


Ahsan Raja is an undergraduate student of Computer Science at COMSATS Institute of Information Technology, Wah Campus. He is currently the graphic design lead of the IEEE Computer Society Wah Chapter. Raja has established an online blood donor system in emergency situations, and is connecting campuses via the IEEE Computer Society platform. He is also working on S.W.A.R.M Intelligence and image processing for complex pattern formation.


You too can win the Upsilon Pi Epsilon Scholarship. Complete the application on the UPE Scholarship webpage, along with three letters of recommendation; a certified copy of the previous three-years, official, academic transcripts; and a statement of your participation in extracurricular activities relevant to the computing discipline.

The deadline is 31 October 2018. The application submission period will begin September 1.

POSTED IN  |  TAGS:   •    •  

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *